The Loss

I lost myself in finding you

I am not me anymore

I lost myself the day I saw you

When a gentle touch of your lips met mine

When you ran your fingers through my hair

I lost myself, when you said you love me

When you promised to stay

And you were ready to be forever mine

The day I started living as ‘You’, I lost myself

The day I started knowing you, I lost myself

The day I started loving you more than myself, I lost myself

I just lost all that I had

But, I had you

The only gain in my lost world!

But, soon I realised,

In the process of losing myself, I have lost in me, the person you loved

And now I know that I have lost you

All that is left is a void which seems as serene to me as did your love

And now, here I stand in this beautiful void, sometimes weeping for the loss and the other times, embracing the ‘New’ me.

Leave a comment